DC 37 Endorsements for Primary Day on September 13

The Green Machine, the union’s team of activists, has been busy making telephone calls on behalf of candidates endorsed by District Council 37 for the upcoming primary election on Tuesday, Sept. 13.

“DC 37 volunteers will be on the phone and on the streets from now until primary day to ensure victory for these candidates,” said Executive Director Henry Garrido. “The candidates we have endorsed have solid records and demonstrate their dedication to their communities.”

There are five state legislative races that are a priority for the union. In Brooklyn’s race to represent the 19th District, the union is supporting state Sen. Roxanne Persaud. She served as president of the 69th Precinct Community Council in Canarsie and is a member of Community Board 18. Persaud is an advocate for seniors and has introduced legislation to protect the elderly against financial exploitation.

In the race to represent the 55th District in Brooklyn, the union backs Assembly member and Brownsville native Latrice Walker. Walker served as counsel for U.S. Rep. Yvette D. Clarke. She is a strong supporter of more funds for hospitals in her district and for capital improvement projects.

In the Bronx, state Sen. Gustavo Rivera, has received the union’s endorsement in his race to represent the 33rd District. Rivera has sponsored several pieces of legislation to help veterans and to provide translation services for incarcerated individuals.

The union has also endorsed Assembly member Victor Pichardo in his race to represent the 86th District in the Bronx. Pichardo served as Latino outreach coordinator for U.S. Sen. Charles Shumer before he was elected to the state Assembly. Pichardo is an advocate for tenants and supports raising the minimum wage.

DC 37 also endorses Jamaal Bailey for the 36th Senate District, which covers Mount Vernon and the North West Bronx. Bailey serves as the community relations director for state Assembly Speaker Carl Heastie.

The union endorses these candidates in their election:

State Senate
10 James Sanders
11 Tony Avella
14 Leroy Comrie
15 Joseph Addabbo Jr.
16 Toby Ann Stavisky
18 Martin Malave Dilan
19 Roxanne Pesaud
20 Jessie Hamilton
21 Kevin S. Parker
25 Velmanette Montgomery
33 Gustavo Rivera
34 Jeff Klein
35 Andrea Stewart-Cousins
36 Jamaal Bailey
27 Brad Hoylman
28 Liz Kruger
30 Bill Perkins
31 Robert Jackson
23 Diane J. Savino
State Assembly
25 Nily Rozic
29 Alicia Hyndman
31 Michele Titus
33 Clyde Vanel
39 Francisco Moya
42 Rodneyse Bichotee
43 Diana Richardson
46 Pamela Harris
47 William Colton
49 Peter Abbate Jr.
52 Jo Anne Simon
55 Latrice Walker
56 Tremaine Wright
57 Walter T. Mosley
60 Charles Barron
65 Yuh-Line Niou
66 Deborah Glick
68 Robert Rodriguez
70 Inez Dickens
72 Guillermo Linares
75 Richard N. Gottfried
78 José Rivera
79 Michael Blake
81 Jeffrey Dinowitz
83 Carl Heastie
85 Marcos Crespo
86 Victor Pichardo
City Council
17 Rafael Salamanca



%d bloggers like this: