DC 37 Endorsements for the Sept. 12 City Primary

On July 18, District Council 37 announced its endorsements of candidates for NYC elected offices in the Primary Elections on Tuesday, September 12.

Among the endorsed candidates are NYC Public Advocate Letitia James, NYC Comptroller Scott Stringer, Borough Presidents Eric Adams of Brooklyn, Gayle Brewer of Manhattan, Ruben Diaz, Jr. of the Bronx, Melinda Katz of Queens and James Oddo of Staten Island.

The union also endorsed 46 candidates for City Council seats, including the following incumbents in these competitive districts of particular interest to the union: Antonio Reynoso in District 34 (Bklyn-Queens), Laurie A. Cumbo in District 35 (Bklyn), and Carlos Menchaca in District 38 (Bklyn).

The contests in the following open districts are also of special interest: Carlina Rivera running in District 2 (Manhattan), Diana Ayala in District 8 (Bronx-Manhattan), Marjorie Velazquez in District 13 (Bronx), Francisco Moya in District 21 (Queens), Alicka Ampry-Samuel in District 41 (Bklyn), Adrienne Adams in District 28 (Bklyn) and Justin Brannan in District 43 (Bklyn).

“These are highly qualified candidates who’ve distinguished themselves as dedicated and accomplished leaders for our city and in our communities,” said DC 37 Executive Director Henry Garrido. “They also share our union’s values of economic and social justice for all, as well as, a commitment to continue the work of making government the force necessary to improve the lives of all New Yorkers.”

“We will be on the phones and on the streets engaging our members from now until Primary Day to ensure victory for these candidates,” Garrido added. To get involved, contact the DC 37 Political Action Dept. at (212) 815-1550.

The union endorsed Mayor Bill de Blasio for a second term on January 26.

To find your polling place, please click here.

DC 37-Endorsed City Council Candidates

District Endorsed
1 Margaret Chin
2 Carlina Rivera
3 Corey Johnson
4 No Endorsement
6 Helen Rosenthal
7 Mark Levine
8 Diana Ayala
9 No Endorsement
10 Ydanis Rodriguez
11 Andrew Cohen
12 Andy King
13 Marjorie Velazquez
14 Fernando Cabrera
15 Ritchie Torres
16 Vanessa Gibson
17 Rafael Salamanca
18 Amanda Farias
19 Paul Vallone
20 Peter Koo
21 Francisco Moya
22 Costa Constantinides
23 Barry Grodenchik
24 Rory Lancman
25 Daniel Dromm
26 Jimmy Van Bramer
27 I. Daneek Miller
28 Adrienne Adams
29 Karen Koslowitz
30 Elizabeth Crowley
31 Donovan Richards
32 Eric Ulrich
33 Stephen Levin
34 Antonio Reynoso
35 Laurie Cumbo
36 Robert Cornegy
37 Rafael Espinal
38 Carlos Menchaca
39 Brad Lander
40 Mathieu Eugene
41 Alicka Ampry-Samuels
42 Inez Barron
43 Justin Brannan
44 No Endorsement
46 Alan Maisel
47 Mark Treyger
48 No Endorsement
49 Deborah Rose
50 No Endorsement
51 Dylan Schwartz


Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: